Skip to content



Keep in Touch

Keep in Touch

Winners Announced at 2016 Awards Ceremony

Budding young poets from all over the nation attended the Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards Presentation Ceremony last Friday in Gunnedah, celebrating the crème de la crème of modern poetry and prose.

Over 11,7666 entries from young Australian poets were received this year with competition judges Sophie Mason and Stephen Whiteside set the difficult task of selecting the 2016 winning submission for each of the eight categories.

The presentation ceremony was held at The Civic in Gunnedah and was attended by Dorothea Mackellar Memorial Society patrons Margaret White, Mark Vaile and Peter Shergold as well as renowned ABC Journalist and keynote speaker Heather Ewart.

At the conclusion of the presentation ceremony, winners, their families and dignitaries attended the official opening of The Mackellar Centre - the new home base for the awards and gallery for the Jean Isherwood “My Country” Watercolour Collection.

The Mackellar Centre has been a major project of the society and Gunnedah Shire Council with support of funding partner BHP Billiton and many local businesses.

Head to or contact the Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards Head Office on 02 6742 1200 to find out more information.

For more details and photos please see the Media Release: Winners Announced at 2016 Awards Ceremony.


Media Contact: Pip Murray 0427 426 722